Representatives of BLISTT Local Chief Executives and implementers from the National Government Agencies convened at Fortune Hotel, Baguio City on September 7, 2021 to tackle significant events that took place during the 2nd quarter of the year relative to the airshed management, LGU accomplishments, and actions plans for next quarter.

EMB-CAR Regional Director Ma. Victoria V. Abrera presided the meeting and thanked the participants for the sustained support to Clean Air program on BLISTT airshed.

Continuing from the earlier discussions during the 2nd quarter meeting, Municipal Environment and Natural Resources Officer Arthur Pedro presented the Adopt – a – Tree Program for the Green Buffer Zone of La Trinidad, BLISTT Anti-Smoke Belching Task Force, Roadside Emission Testing,  the installation of Differential Optical Absorption Spectroscopy (DOAS) along the La Trinidad Public Market, the Apprehension of Violators on Clean Air Act, and the Inventory on the number of Municipal Employees with Vehicles.

During the 3rd quarter board meeting, each representative of BLISTT municipalities presented the Air Quality Monitoring and accomplishments for the 2nd quarter of C.Y. 2021, their updated policies, strategies, and programs to Airshed advocacy, including the first and second quarter of Smoke Belching Task Force action plans and outcomes of implemented policies. Furthermore, the body was updated on the status of VKT study, Black Carbon monitoring, and Source Apportionment.

Ms. Wilhelmina O. Laguinilla, Section Chief of Ambient Monitoring Section informed the body that there was deputization conducted. Likewise, she notified them of the meeting on Emission Inventory for LGU members on the 2nd week of September.

In attendance were Mayor Victorio T. Palangdan of Itogon and Engr. Benigno Apidos,  Atty. Rhenan Diwas, Mr. Norman Nicoli Parado and Mr. Wilbur Suanding from the City of Baguio, Arthur A. Pedro and Maria Angelica Tinoyan from LGU La Trinidad, by Mr. Norman Ramirez and Atty. George Pukai III from LGU Tuba, Mr. Redjie Cawis from PIA-CAR, Mr. Ralph Altiyen from DTI, Ms. Vilma Talamayan from DPWH, Ms.  Susana G. Carbonell from TESDA, Mr. Lito D. Mucat from DA-CAR, and Ms. Marissa Paran from BSU. According to EMB-CAR Regional Director, each municipality is encouraged to continue their perseverance to implement necessary actions for the reduction of air pollutants and the need to harmonize, craft, and strengthen clean air ordinance in the pursuit of Airshed well-being.